V/A - Guilt by Association

Have you ever felt embarrassed listening to one-hit wonders or pop gems of yesteryear? Fear not. Your favorite Indie superstars are giving the OK by joining in together for "Guilt By Association", a collection of songs by today's most exciting Indie talent re-interpreting their favorite guilty pleasure pop songs. Petra Haden delivers a soaring acapella version of Journey's anthem Don't Stop Believin'. Will Oldham/Bonnie 'Prince' Billy turns Mariah Carey's Can't Take That Away into a bittersweet synth ballad. Jim O'Rourke, who produced albums for Wilco, Beth Orton and Joanna Newsom transforms the Spice Girls' ballad Viva Forever into something that wouldn't have been out of place as a take out of a Beth Orton session.

Lets all wallow in our guilt and enjoy these remembered gems, indie-style. yeah.

1. Petra Haden - ”Don't Stop Believin” (Journey)
2. Devendra Banhart - ”Don't Look Back In Anger” (Oasis)
3. Mark Mulcahy - ”From This Moment On” (Shania Twain)
4. Luna - ”Straight Up” (Paula Abdul)
5. The Concretes - ”Back For Good” (Take That)
6. Jim O'Rourke - ”Viva Forever” (Spice Girls)
7. Goat - ”Sugar We're Going Down” (Fall Out Boy)
8. Will Oldham - ”Can't Take That Away” (Mariah Carey)
9. Woody Jackson Orchestra ft Money Mark - ”Love's Theme (Love Unlimited Orchestra)”
10. Porter Block - ”Breaking Free” (High School Musical)
11. Mooney Suzuki - ”Just Like Jesse James” (Cher)
12. Geoff Farina - ”Two Tickets To Paradise” (Eddie Money)
13. Casey Shea - ”Chop Suey” (System of a Down)
14. Superchunk - ”Say My Name” (Destiny's Child)
15. Mike Watt - ”Burning For You” (Blue Oyster Cult)

V/A - Guilt by Association Part 1
V/A - Guilt by Association Part 2

here's the video for Devendra Gallagher's Don't Look Back in Anger, dir. by Andy Callahan:

source: http://www.myspace.com/guiltbyassociation

Tidak ada komentar: